link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 08753
Date: 17 Nov 1863
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: EDGCUMBE Caroline Augusta, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA63-090
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Cotehele <1>

Novr 17th 1863

My dear Henry

I was very glad to get your improved accounts of Amandier, <2> & I do hope she will now continue to amend. Walking in the garden was a great step, or rather jump – & I only hope it had no bad consequences. I suppose she received a letter I wrote a short time ago? But I do not for a moment want or expect an answer – I only wish to enter a statement. I heard from Jane Nicholl <3> yesterday – so I can give you the latest intelligence.

To my surprize the letter was dated from Maurigy’s Hotel <4> 1 Regent St for I thought she was gone abroad. I enclose it for you to read – Please return it, & direct to me




That is George Edgcumbe’s <5> house, where we are going for 2 nights – & if you write Thursday or Friday, yr letter will just catch me there before starting for Windsor. Please write Thursday – as I may leave Thanckes on Sunday; & the Post takes 2 days. You will be glad to hear that Val <6> has found & engaged a delightful Villa at Cannes – very dear unfortunately, & with the Villa Anna still on his hands – but as he is at liberty to underlet, I hope he will succeed in doing so. It is ½ a mile on the East side of the Town, on a rising ground with a good sized garden – sheltered by olive trees, & sloping to the South – & at the foot of it a pathway leading thro’ a little bosquet <7> of firs (probably Pinus Marittima <sic>) to the Sea. The view is beautiful – no dust or mosquitos – & seems preferable to Nice, where they went for 2 days to shop while the house was getting ready. Besides all this, the bay is very nice for boating & sailing, & he goes out in a good boat with the Landlord of the Hotel, who he describes as a Yachting Swell!

We are beginning our preparations, & hope to start the end of the year – I think we shall go for a day or two to Paris, then to Geneva to see Mlle Mosché, <8> who will die no other death if we disappoint her hopes – & then by ways which I know exist, tho’ I have not hunted them out yet, to Cannes for a few days – Thence to Rome – partly I suppose by sea, partly by land – But I hate being hurried, & mean to take the journey as leisurely as circumstances will admit. Now you must try & come too – It would be charming – if only as far as Paris & Cannes.

No more time today – with loves to all

Yr affte Sister


Lena Digby, Theresa’s <9> second girl – only 18, is going to be married to Mr Baring, Son of your old friend Francis <10> – He is desperately in love – & she has liked him all the Season I believe. He is well off.


1. Cotehele, Cornwall: ancient house, seat of the Earl of Mt Edgcumbe, now a National Trust Property

2. Amélina Petit De Billier, ‘Mamie’, ‘Amandier’ (1798–1876), governess and later close friend of the Talbot family [See Amélina's journal ].

3. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

4. Owned by David Maurigy. [See 1856 London Post Office Directory, p.640].

5. George Edgcumbe (1800–1882).

6. William Henry Edgcumbe, ‘Val’, 4th Earl Mt Edgcumbe (1832–1917), JP & Ld Steward of the Royal Household; WHFT’s nephew ‘Bimbo’.

7. Grove.

8. See Doc. No: 07173.

9. Leonora Caroline Digby (1845–1930), daughter of Theresa Anna Maria Digby, née Fox Strangways (1814–1874), WHFT’s cousin.

10. Alexander Hugh Baring (1835–1889), son of Francis Baring, 3rd Baron Ashburton (1800–1868), MP.