link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 08947
Date: 11 Feb 1865
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: EDGCUMBE Caroline Augusta, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 2nd May 2012

Mount Edgcumbe <1>Devonport

Feby 11th 1865

My dear Henry

I have been intending to write to you again lately, & chuse this is an appropriate day, as I can wish you many happy returns of it. I heard lately from Harriot Mundy, <2> the only person who ever gives me any family news. She says she has not heard all particulars about affairs at Melbury, <3> excepting that the income is much larger than she thought. I am glad of it, as Melbury can be properly kept up. She says it is £42,000 a year, without the Wiltshire property, (which was left to Uncle John <4>), & no incumbrances.

Sophy Ilchester <5> is gone to Old Burlington St – Harriot cannot make out that she is to have Abbotsbury <6> which I am sorry for – She ought to have it, as grand Mama Ilchester <7> had it before. Mrs Strangways, the widow of Harry the clergyman, <8> died the other day – She was a Sister of James Buller of Downes.

You must be very cold at Edinburgh! All the Midland counties have been wrapped in snow – Even they have had a good deal at Torquay, when there was only rain here – But last night a good deal fell – Since melted. It is cold however, & till within the last few days we have had perpetual rain. We should have been at Cotehele <9> long before this, but Ernestine <10> has such a bad cold, that I wished her to be under the Doctor’s care here for a short time – & it would not have been prudent to remove to a colder place, & more draughty house, till she was better. She is getting better – but I suppose we shall not start for a few days more. Let me have a line from you, & I hope soon to write to Amandier. <11> I hope Amandier is pretty well? – Lucy Nicholl & Kate <12> are at Torquay – Ernestine begs to send her love – & give mine also to your ladies. <13>

Yr very affte Sister

The accounts fm Cannes – are much the same – pretty good – but generally speaking, very bad weather. Charlie <14> is there still I believe


1. Mt Edgecumbe, near Plymouth: seat of the Earl of Mt Edgcumbe.

2. Harriot Georgiana Mundy, née Frampton (1806-1886), WHFT’s cousin & sister-in-law.

3. Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there.

4. John George Charles Fox Strangways (1803–1859), MP.

5. Lady Sophia Penelope Jolliffe, née Sheffield (1822-1882); first m. WTHF Strangways, 21 July 1857; second m. 1st Baron Hylton.

6. Abbotsbury, Dorset: home of William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways.

7. Juliana Maria Strangways, née Digby (d. 1842).

8. See Doc. No: 00481.

9. Cotehele, Cornwall: ancient house, seat of the Earl of Mt Edgcumbe, now a National Trust Property.

10. Ernestine Emma Horatia Edgcumbe (1843-1925), WHFT’s niece.

11. Amélina Petit De Billier, ‘Mamie’, ‘Amandier’ (1798–1876), governess and later close friend of the Talbot family [See Amélina's journal].

12. Lucy Mary Nicholl (1824-1876), of Merthyr Mawr.

13. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife; Ela Theresa Talbot (25 Apr 1835 - 25 Apr 1893), WHFT's 1st daughter; Rosamond Constance Talbot (16 Mar 1837 - 7 May 1906), 'Rose'; 'Monie'; artist & WHFT's 2nd daughter; died & buried at San Remo, Italy, with a memorial at Lacock; Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, née Talbot (25 Feb 1839-1927), 'Tilly', WHFT's 3rd daughter.

14. Charles Earnest Edgcumbe (1838–1915), JP, WHFT’s nephew.