link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 16 of 25:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1568
Date: Wed Jun 1827
Dating: probably 27 June 1827 - see note
Recipient: AMICI Giovanni Battista
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: Biblioteca Estense Universitaria Modena
Collection number: 7321
Last updated: 21st April 2014

31 Sackville Street <1>

Monsieur le Professeur

J’ai reçu le microscope dont je vous remercie, et j’envoye le montant du compte de l’opticien Robinson. <2>

Agréez l’expression de ma consideration
W. H. Talbot

Mercredi au soir <3>

Professor Amici
Sablonière Hotel
Leicester Square


31 Sackville Street

Dear Professor

I have received the microscope, for which I thank you, and I am sending full payment of the optician Robinson’s bill. –

Sincere regards
W. H. Talbot

Wednesday evening

Professor Amici
Sablonière Hotel
Leicester Square


1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Possibly Thomas Charles Robinson, an instrument maker from 1792–1841 at 38 Devonshire St, Portland Place, London.

3. Alberto Meschiari estimated the date as 27 June 1827, based on the sequence within the correspondence and on the letter of 10 June 1826: Doc. No: 00000<1441 "Corrispondenza di Giovanni Battista Amici con William Henry Fox Talbot," Nuncius, v. 1, 2003, p. 236.

Result number 16 of 25:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >