link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 12 of 12:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 6204
Date: 16 Jan 1849
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: ARNOLD Thomas Kerchever
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc no 20305 (envelope only)
Last updated: 28th January 2015

5 The Croft, Hastings
Jan. 16. 1849

My dear Talbot,

I have only just received your letter, being on exile from Rutland in consequence of ill health (a long attack of asthma) which has driven me from home three times already, and threatens to send me to Naples or Palermo next winter, if either of those places should seem likely to get over a few months' without a revolution.

The most elementary of my Latin Books is "Henry's First Latin Book," a name imitated from Mrs Marcet's "Willy's Grammar"<1>

The Bonneys have both been ailing a little this year; they are seldom free from rheumatism. Mr Lucas's disreputable marriage, which necessarily puts an end to all pleasant intercourse with their Weston neighbours, is a great arrogance to them.

I am dear Talbot Yrs very truly
T.K. Arnold

P.S. If your little boy is to begin Latin under his mamma or a governess I can send you a key to the work

[added in WHFT's hand:] Arnold
H. F. Talbot Esq
Lacock Abbey


1. Jane Haldimand Marcet (1769-1858). Willy's Grammar: Interspersed with Stories for the Use of Children (London: Longman, Brown, Green and Longmans, 1845).

Result number 12 of 12:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >