link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 102 of 386:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5117
Date: 27 Nov 1844
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: AWDRY West
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 24th December 2010

27 Nov: 1844

Dear Sir,

I think it very likely that the man Powney may have been sent to you in respect of the Abbey Lands part of which are in the occupation of Joseph Croker though you remain assessed to the Poor Rates &c I will enquire about this and let you know, but I would not at all events discharge him as the arrangement which has been made for the employment of the Laborers will, if acted upon, effect a considerable saving to you and be most beneficial to the Parish at large.

I have not yet got a sketch of the proposed Branch Railway, but the Plans must be deposited with the Clerk of the Peace on the 30th when I shall be able to see [ill. del.] them. if I do not earlier.

I am dear Sir your obliged Svt
West Awdry.

P.S. I paid to your Account with– Coults &Co£300.
Melksham Bank £300–
Messrs Stilwell <1> for Lady E. Feilding <2> deducting Property Tax 291.57.


1. Stilwell & Company.

2. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

Result number 102 of 386:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >