link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 58 of 167:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1709
Date: 08 Sep 1828
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: AWDRY William Henry
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA28-65
Last updated: 14th February 2012

Chippenham <1>
8th Sept. 1828

Dear Sir,

I beg to inform you, that the different Sums mentioned in your last Letter, have been recd and paid – I have also to mention having received £30· from Mr Hayward <2> for your Mare –

I have been to the Abbey this Morng & McPhail <3> desired me to say, that all things were going on well in his department – He mentioned being in want of a little Cash & I therefore gave him £10· on Acct which I thought I might venture to do, altho’ I had not recd any specific directions from you on that head & if I do not hear from you to the contrary, I presume I may advance him a little from time to time, till your return –

Mr Reading <4> & his men have left Lacock – before he went, he brought me his Book, wch I have put away for the present, with your other Papers –

I rejoice to say, that the late fine weather has quite put an end to the alarms wch we had begun to feel about the Harvest – it is now nearly over & I trust, very little of it much injured – The after Grass has been so abundant, owing to the great quantity of rain, that it is of less value this year, (I mean as to price) & if I had not sold that at the Abbey, early in the year, I should probably have had a difficulty in getting so much as 18s/ pr acre – Last year I sold it for 21s/ –

McPhail desired me to say that he was sending Peaches &c to Mr Moore’s <5> at Sloperton <6> – as directed by Lady E <7> – The Butler had heard from Captn Fielding <8> & the family were just going into Cornwall

I am Dear Sir Yr Obliged Hble Sert
W. H. Awdry

Monsieur Henri Fox Talbot

Poste Restante
en Swisse –


1. Chippenham, Wiltshire: largest town near Lacock, 3 miles N.

2. Thomas Hayward (b. 1783), tenant farmer, Wick Farm, Lacock.

3. John Mcphail, Lacock Abbey gardener.

4. David Reading, builder, working on Lacock Abbey.

5. Thomas Moore (1780–1852), Irish poet.

6. Sloperton Cottage, Wiltshire, 1 mi E of Lacock: home of Thomas Moore, the Irish poet.

7. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

8. Misspelling for Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

Result number 58 of 167:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >