link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 4325
Date: 29 Aug 1841
Harold White: 29 Aug 1841
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: HERBERT Henry John George
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: acc 25220
Last updated: 5th November 2014

My dear Talbot

We were very sorry to hear that You had deferred your journey to the West on account of the cause – at the same time we indulge in the hope that we may reap the some advantage from the postponement and may have the pleasure of receiving you & Lady Elisabeth at Pixton personally which will be more pleasant to us than doing so by deputy–<1>

Many thanks for your kind invitation to Laycock Abbey – we should indeed have real pleasure in availing ourselves of an opportunity of so doing visiting you there –

Trusting that this glorious weather will quite dispel Lady Elisabeth’s cold

believe me dear Talbot Yours most sincerly

Melford <2>
Aug 29 1841

[appended note:]
There is a nice little gem that has grown itself in the Botanic Garden. I covet it much but fear to disturb the roots of some crotons growing there near it, as the same time this year will kill in what ever it is, if its left there. What say you?


1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother. Pixton Park was the country seat of the Herberts, in the parish of Dulverton, Somerset,

2. Suffolk.