link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 19 of 57:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 842
Date: 11 Jan 1819
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: COLE Mary Lucy, née Fox Strangways
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA19-1
Last updated: 14th December 2010

Jany 11th

My dear Henry

Your book tho sent from Town the 27th Decr did not reach me for a long time. I like it very much but more particularly your kind remembrance. I think your critique of it very just I should think the engraver was a man whose mind was not much elevated refined by the company he associated with & that his talents paid him but indifferently is it that he meets with little encouragement? or is he idle & dissolute

Kit <1> goes tomorrow to Fulham as much against grain as usual however Easter promises a break in the dismal prospect of absence & I wish you could afford time to accompany him when he comes down here. Your Cousins <2> have got Colds & sore throats but not of a lasting sort I hope, they were well enough on Twelfth night to demolish the Cake & dance very merrily to J: Georges <3> poor fiddle on these occasions we always wish for you as one of the family I suppose this will find you returned to Cambridge <4> but [illegible] fear doubt I shall direct it to Sackville Street <5> does your Mother & Mr F: <6> keep their intention of going to France this spring?

I am affly your Aunt
M: L: Cole

Henry Talbot Esqr
31 Sackville St


1. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (18031890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

2. Mary Thereza Talbot (17951861), WHFTs cousin; Jane Harriot Nicholl, ne Talbot (17961874); Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, ne Talbot (18001880), WHFTs cousin; Isabella Catherine Franklen, ne Talbot (18041874); Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, ne Talbot (18061881), photographer, WHFTs Welsh cousin.

3. A servant of the Cole family.

4. Trinity College, Cambridge.

5. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

6. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother, and Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (17801837), Royal Navy; WHFTs step-father.

Result number 19 of 57:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >