link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 1835
Date: 07 Jun 1829
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: BASSET Francis
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA29-68
Last updated: 22nd July 2010

June 7th 1829

Dear Sir/

I received yours <1> at this place from which it might be supposed that I took some part in what is now going on here; but the fact is that I have long promised to shew Cambridge to my Wife <2> & that we accidentally found ourselves in the bustle of an Election. I really have little or no influence: & those few friends on whom my wishes might have some effect live at such a distance that I should think it unreasonable to press them much to make so long a Journey. I have great respect for Mr Cavendishs <3> character Talents & attainments though personally unknown to him. but I am so intimately known to most of Mr Bankes’s <4> near Connexions that my good wishes must be given to that gentleman I regret [illegible] I can not comply with yr request I am most truly yours

De Dunstanville [illegible]


1. Letter not located.

2. Harriet Lemon of Carclew, Cornwall.

3. Sir William Cavendish (later, 7th Duke of Devonshire, 1808–1891), eldest son of William Cavendish (1783–1812); in 1829, he had been 2nd Wranger at Trinity College, Cambridge. [See Doc. No: 01833].

4. Hon George Bankes (1787-1856), MP for nearly fifty years.