link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 17 of 400:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5035
Date: 16 Aug 1822
Dating: year from Doc nos 00987 & 01466
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: EDGCUMBE Caroline Augusta, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 29th January 2012

[written on the same sheet as notes from Capt Feilding: see Doc. No: 05034 - and Horatia: see Doc. No: 05036]

My dear Henry

It is a long time since I have written to you, or you to me; I hear however you are got to Brussels; I wonder how you & Mama <1> can think it enough to give us the list of places you mean to pass through; as if we did not want to know how long you intend to stay at each of them, to be able to send the letters in time; after all Papa <2> said & explained to you; quel [illegible deletion] peu de tte! <3> I should not of have done worse. We are at Pratolino, villa reale e imperiale del Granduca; <4> a most beautiful garden just like those in England, but the Palace is quite in ruins though only 300 years old; it the reason is because the ground foundations give s way, owing to a beautiful grotto underneath, built by Buontalenti <5> in the time of the Medicis; there was a great quantity of fountains, jets deau, <6> &c, but the conduits being broken the water ran on all sides & caused the ground to give way. I have had my Campbells works, <7> which you gave me at Marseilles, bound in parchment, & I & Horatia <8> have read Gertrude of Wyoming <9> . I have drawn Niobe daprs la bosse, <10> & I have studied trees here, as it is a good oportunity [sic] for there are not many about Florence, except in the Caserne. Beautiful Syclamons [sic] grow wild in the woods here, if I think of it, I will keep some for you. Adieu, my dear Henry, if you dont answer this directly, I will never write to you any more.

Your affectionate sister
Caroline

Monsr
Monsieur Talbot
Verona


Notes:

1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

2. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (17801837), Royal Navy; WHFTs step-father.

3. What lack of brains!

4. Royal and imperial villa of the grand duke.

5. Bernardo Buontalenti (Bernardo delle Girandole) ( ca.15311608), architect, engineer, painter and designer.

6. Waterjets (that is, from water level, not cascading down a structure).

7. Henrietta Horatia Maria Gaisford, ne Feilding (18101851), WHFTs half-sister.

8. Thomas Campbell (17771844), poet; Caroline probably referes to his The poetical works of Thomas Campbell.

9. Thomas Campbell, Gertrude of Wyoming and other poems (London: Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme and Brown, 1821).

10. Out of my head (that is, not copied).

Result number 17 of 400:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >