link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 8 of 400:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 93
Date: Jun 1816
Dating: fern in 00703
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: EDGCUMBE Caroline Augusta, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA16-22
Last updated: 14th December 2010

My dear Brother

I walked in Russell square <1> yesterday and saw a papilionaceous flower about as big as half a Laburnum, and quite yellow, will you tell me the name of it? In the square were three Children, two of which I played with. Elbelle <2> found the fern u in the Closet and I hope you will never again suspect her of having any of your ferns or mosses in her drawers, or if she does happen to have some, not to think she put them there. I send you a hundred kisses and my love. Do you work much in your garden, and have you a great many flowers in it.

Mama <3> hopes you gargle very often.

Dear Brother I am your affectionate Sister
C. Augusta. Feilding.


Notes:

1. London.

2. Probably the governess to Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, ne Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (18081881); WHFTs half-sister. [See Doc. No: 00703].

3. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

Result number 8 of 400:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >