link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 105 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 112
Date: Wed Jul 1837
Dating: before 28 July 1837 - see Doc no 03453
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Author 2: EDGCUMBE Caroline Augusta, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 23rd January 2011

Wednesday evg

My dear Henry

We were so sorry to have spoilt your morning, and made you come all that way for nothing. I hope you found a stage to take you back, & were in time for the French play. You cannot think how beautiful Richmond is looking: you must come & see us very soon, and make Papa <1> come too.

The key Mama <2> gave you opens her dressing-table drawer, in which you will find a blue key (i.e. with a blue string) which opens the large drawer of her velvet writing table in the middle drawing room in which is the Permesso to see the Botanic Garden at Kew. N.B. pray do not mislay any of the above Keys.

We found this house looking so nice & the Flower Pots dressed up for our reception, with Fleur de Lys, Azaleas &c &c. It is a very cold evening & it would have been rash for sick people <3> to have attempted walking in the Horticultural Garden in an East wind.

Spero meliora <4>

Scrivetemi <5>

Put Papa in mind <6> to send us the newspapers every day.

W. H. Fox Talbot
31 Sackville Street


1. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780- 2 September 1837), Royal Navy; WHFT's step-father. He arrived sometime before 21 August 1837 - see Doc. No: 03556.

2. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m. Talbot (1773 - 12 March 1846), WHFT's mother. She arrived in Richmond sometime before 15 August 1837 - see Doc. No: 03550.

3. Continued in the hand of Lady Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding (1808-1881); WHFT's half-sister; Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Victoria, 1840–1854 & 1863–1865.

4. I hope for better [news].

5. Write to me.

6. Continued in Horatia’s hand.

Result number 105 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >