link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 109 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3537
Date: Fri 14 Jul 1837
Dating: only possible date - King died 20 Jun 1837 - Feilding died 2 Sep 1837
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 21st December 2010

Sackville St <1>
14th Friday

My dear Henry

I did not write for the last few days because Papa <2> was going on much the same – He is getting gradually better, & the leg is diminishing but very slow indeed, & he still complains very much of his tongue which is what he suffers the most from now I think, & gives him a still greater dislike to eating particularly animal food, & yet it is very necessary he should be nourished & strengthened He sleeps a great deal both in the day & night which is a very good thing –

Two days ago he asked me what had happened since the King’s <3> death & wished to hear all the news Uncle William <4> is gone with Ly I. <5> to Normanby but will return in a few days. Uncle John <6> is in Dorsetshire about his election – Henry FitzM. <7> set off in Mr Heneage’s <8> yacht just as he was wanted to appear at Calne, <9> & Lord L. <10> has been in a great taking & sending letters after him to Mt Edgcumbe <11> & Mount’s Bay & everywhere along the coast. Kit & Charlotte <12> set off next Monday for Wales to canvass. London is thinning very fast. The Queen <13> took possession of her new palace yesterday & gave a dinner on the occasion. She is to prorogue Parlt in person – Aunt Louisa <14> will be in attendance – I should like to see it. Lord V & Bimbo <15> were to have arrived to-day but he has the gout again in his foot & so cannot set out yet.

Addio fratel carissimo <16>

Yr affte

Give my love to Constance <17> & a kiss to the babes.

Pray tell me how my garden is looking & whether Mama’s <18> yellow roses have flowered – & what there is in my kitchen garden.


1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

3. William IV (1765–1837), King of England (1830–1837).

4. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (1795–1865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

5. Juliana Maria Strangways, née Digby (d. 1842).

6. John George Charles Fox Strangways (1803–1859), MP. He sat for Dorset from 1837 to 1841.

7. Henry Fitzmaurice, Lord Shelburne, 4th Marquess of Lansdowne (1816–1866), MP. He sat for Calne from 1837 to 1856.

8. Probably George Walker Heneage.

9. Calne, Wiltshire, 5 mi NE of Lacock.

10. Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne (1780–1863), MP, WHFT’s uncle.

11. Mt Edgecumbe, near Plymouth: seat of the Earl of Mt Edgcumbe.

12. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin and Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

13. Victoria (1819–1901), Queen of the United Kingdom (1837–1901), Empress of India (1876–1901).

14. Louisa Emma Petty Fitzmaurice, née Fox Strangways, Marchioness of Lansdowne (1785-1851), wife of Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne; Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Victoria, 1837-1838; WHFT's aunt.

15. Ernest Augustus Edgcumbe, Lord Valletort, 3rd Earl of Mt Edgcumbe (1797–1861), WHFT’s brother-in-law and William Henry Edgcumbe, ‘Val’, 4th Earl Mt Edgcumbe (1832–1917), JP & Ld Steward of the Royal Household; WHFT’s nephew ‘Bimbo’.

16. Goodbye dear brother.

17. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

18. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

Result number 109 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >