link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 118 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3732
Date: Tue 25 Sep 1838
Postmark: 26 Sep 1838
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 13th March 2012

Moreton <1>
Septr 25th

My dear Henry

I was very glad to get your letter which was the first word from home that gl cheered my eyes. I had a nice long one to-day from Caroline <2> in better spirits than I could have expected after all her troubles – I suppose Mama <3> is with her by this time – I was surprised to hear thro’ Louisa FitzM. <4> that Mama’s cold was better, as she had not mentioned it to me, I trust it was not a bad one. I was very angry at your having another Aurora borealis in my absence. We saw nothing of it here tho’ I believe it was visible in these parts. I never saw this place looking so well before it is really much prettier than it is reputed in general, & there are some very fine trees which I had never observed without their leaves – & the hollies & rhododendrons grow quite wonderfully. I have now settled to stay here till my Aunt <5> goes to Weymouth & perhaps accompany her there for a few days – & then progress to Abb. & Melbury. <6> I assure you we are extremely diligent at our studies & I expect soon to write to you in Latin – I only wish the grammars were a little clearer in their explanations – they seem to be constructed on the principle of puzzling the boys as much as possible. Only think of find the story of Cinderella in Strabo! <7> I wonder if you ever saw it – To-day we are going to have an incursion of Welds<8> from Lulworth Castle, Mr Wollaston <9> &c & so have been obliged to stow away all the dictionaries & exercises. Lord Lansdo[wne]<10> has made a very short séjour <11> in Ireland. I understand he is to be at Bowood <12> Monday I am rejoiced at it for Aunt Louisa’s <13> sake as she was always fancying he would fall ill without her. I hope you or Constance <14> will write to me now & then & tell me what you are about & whether Rosamond <15> walks alone Give them my love

yr affte Sister

Mr Frampton <16> desired I would thank you particularly for having thought of sending him your book. He had been reading it & found it very amusing but thought you would not perhaps be pleased with such a compliment – I suppose he fancied you would be like Mr Moore <17> who was so proud of having written a dry book. Tell me if there is anything left in flower – & if your library is finished & restored to its usual assiette. <18>

W. Henry Fox Talbot Esqre
Laycock Abbey


1. Moreton, Dorset: home of the Frampton family.

2. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

3. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

4. Louisa Howard, née Fitzmaurice (d. 1906), daughter of Lady Louisa Emma Fitzmaurice.

5. Lady Harriot Frampton, née Fox Strangways (1778 - 6 Aug 1844); dau of Henry Thomas Fox Strangways, 2nd Earl of Ilchester and Mary Theresa O'Grady; she married James Frampton (1769-1855) in 1799.

6. Abbotsbury, Dorset: home of William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways and Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there.

7. Strabo (63/64 BC– ca.23 AD), Greek geographer and historian.

8. The family and relations of Joseph Weld (1777-1863).

9. Charlton Byam Wollaston (1765-1840), Assistant Judge Advocate; half brother to James and Mary Frampton.

10. Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne (1780–1863), MP, WHFT’s uncle.

11. Stay.

12. Bowood House, nr Calne, Wiltshire, 5 mi NE of Lacock: seat of the Marquess of Lansdowne.

13. Louisa Emma Petty Fitzmaurice, née Fox Strangways, Marchioness of Lansdowne (1785-1851), wife of Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne; Lady of the Bedchamber to Queen Victoria, 1837-1838; WHFT's aunt.

14. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

15. Rosamond Constance ‘Monie’ Talbot (1837–1906), artist & WHFT’s 2nd daughter.

16. James Frampton (1769–1855), High Sheriff.

17. Thomas Moore (1780–1852), Irish poet.

18. Trim, state of balance.

Result number 118 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >