link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 19 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2120
Date: 25 Dec 1823
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 24th January 2012

[this is written on the same sheet as notes from Caroline: Doc. No: 01141 - and Rev George Montgomerie: Doc. No: 02184]

Christmas-day 1823.

Mon cher Henri <1>

Il y a bien <2> longtems que je n’ai reçu une lettre de toi, cependant je t’écris je t’écris la première me flattant que cette fois tu nous répondras. J’espère que tous nos amis à Melbury <3> se portent bien, et te prie de leur faire mes amitiés.

J’ai trouvé <4> qu’il y aura le 16 Janvier une éclipse de la lune qui nous sera visible; cette nouvelle t’est sans doute connue, je ne sais si elle sera totale ou seulement partielle, crois-tu qu’il seroit possible de la voir? –

I saw the other day in the newspaper something that must have interested you, which is the first appearance of a steam-boat on the Danube, which sailed from Vienna to Pest, I forget in how many hours. I remarked it particularly, because I know you are a great patronizer of steam. –

Genoa must be very beautiful, to admire it as we do after Naples, and for my part I like it better every day, particularly the view from the light-house, with the fine mountain of Porto Fino behind the town. –

Mamma <5> sends you word that she is much better since yesterday when Caroline <6> wrote the beginning of this letter, that you may not be uneasy about her.

Addio, caro fratello <7>, I wish you a merry Christmas and happy new year, and to all my cousins, and hope we shall have the pleasure of seeing you in February.

Your affte Sister

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
31 Sackville Street


1. My dear Henry.

2. It is a long time since I received a letter from you, however I’m writing to you first flattering myself that this time you will answer us. I hope that all our friends at Melbury are well, and I beg you to send them my best wishes.

3. I’ve discovered that there will be an eclipse of the Moon on the 16 January which will be visible to us; no doubt you know this news, I do not know if it will be total or only partial, do you think it will be possible to see it?

4. Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there.

5. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

6. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

7. Farewell, dear brother.

Result number 19 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >