link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 5 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 364
Date: 27 Jul
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 29th January 2012

Sackville St <1>
July 27th

My dear Henry

Caroline <2> left this Monday & we have since had favorable accounts of their progress. He went partly by the railroad, which he liked tolerably well, & she by land as she calls it, meeting however on their way at different places. Yesterday we heard from Markeaton, <3> where she appeared Wednesday & lunched with Harriet, <4> & was to arrive at Buxton that evg I think you might contrive to pay her a visit in the course of your peregrinations. I have great hopes the change of air will do him good as he seemed already better with the thoughts of it. We have been detained by the painter qui nen finit pas <5> he had a last sitting yesterday & then begged for another today However he is a good deal more rapid than Mr Ross <6> & I like his style better. One always has loads of things to do at the last but we mean positively to be off tomorrow & hope to catch some of the roses at Lacock still in blow. Thank Constance <7> for her letter which I will answer more at leisure I am glad she is so pleased with Wales it is almost a pity you should make such a short visit there to be sure you can repeat it another time as it really so near [sic]. Shall you not go to Penrice or Margam <8> now Kit <9> is there? Love to my Aunt & cousins tutti quanti <10>

Yr aff. sister
Horatia


Notes:

1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, ne Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (18081881); WHFTs half-sister.

3. Markeaton Hall, Derbyshire, NW of Derby: home of the Mundy family.

4. Harriot Georgiana Mundy, ne Frampton (1806-1886), WHFTs cousin & sister-in-law.

5. Who still hasnt finished with it.

6. Possibly William Charles Ross (17941860), the leading miniature painter of his day.

7. Constance Talbot, ne Mundy (18111880), WHFTs wife.

8. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot and Margam Park, Glamorgan: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

9. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (18031890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

10. All and sundry.

Result number 5 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >