link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 64 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2237
Date: Tue 04 Oct 1831
Postmark: 12 Oct 1831
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA31-54
Last updated: 13th March 2012

Laycock Abbey
Tuesday Octr 4th

My dear Henry

We are very much surprized at not hearing a word from you all this time – Mama <1> is almost beginning to be uneasy about you. Pray write directly or we shall be very seriously so. You cannot think how nice the gallery is we have got the piano there & a certain quantity of furniture & it is so gay & sunny it is quite a pleasure to sit in it. Lord Lansdowne <2> was here Saturday & admired it exceedingly. They are working at the stove in the dining room. The Gents are still here singing like nightingales. they are very nice girls when one knows them well & even the old lady is very odd & agreeable in her way. One night we acted charades & had great fun – we did Cléopatre with great success. Lord Valletort <3> was to come, but was prevented by a fit of the gout. Charlotte & Mrs Traherne <4> are coming too from Bowood, <5> but only for one night as she says she must go home tomorrow. Our Dahlias are still splendid – the other things are rather going off. – To day is the eventful day – what will happen I wonder – I never was the least uneasy about it before but now it is near I begin not to feel quite so sure. I suppose we shall not know till Thursday

Addio fratel carissimo <6> – pray let us hear from you as soon as you get this – we are not used to such silences from you – Maman & Caroline <7> t’embrassent. <8>

Your very affte sister

The Queen <9> has given Theresa <10> a beautiful parure of Amethysts to reward her ser[vice]<11>

Henry Fox Talbot Esqr
Post office <12>
31 Sackville St <13>


1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

2. Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne (1780–1863), MP, WHFT’s uncle.

3. Ernest Augustus Edgcumbe, Lord Valletort, 3rd Earl of Mt Edgcumbe (1797–1861), WHFT’s brother-in-law.

4. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin, and her mother-in-law, the 2nd wife of Rev John Montgomery Traherne, Barbara Maria, née Manning.

5. Bowood House, nr Calne, Wiltshire, 5 mi NE of Lacock: seat of the Marquess of Lansdowne.

6. Goodbye dearest brother.

7. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

8. Embrace you.

9. Queen Adelaide (1830–1837).

10. Theresa Anna Maria Digby, née Fox Strangways (1814–1874), WHFT’s cousin.

11. Text torn away under seal.

12. Readdressed in another hand.

13. Readdressed in another hand.

Result number 64 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >