link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 79 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2465
Date: Sat 10 Nov 1832
Dating: confirmed by Val Edgcumbe's birth
Postmark: 10 Nov 1832
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: envelope 20084
Collection number historic: LA32-56
Last updated: 1st July 2010

Abbotsbury <1>

My dearest Henry

I was exceedingly touchée <2> by your letter – thank you for giving me that first proof of confidence – Need I say how I pray for your happiness my dear brother, how I wish you joy with all my heart I have longed for many years to see you happily married – I wish I knew her <3> better – I only remember thinking her very pretty that day at Laycock but I am certain as she has charmed you that she must be very amiable & I am quite disposed to love her & receive her as another sister. I obeyed your injunctions & did not breathe a word of it, though I naturally longed to talk to Papa about it – & was obliged to keep my feelings to myself & appear unconcerned. I do wish I could have seen you here & express to you all I never can by letter – God bless you

your very affte sister

Is it not odd that you & I should be uncle & aunt. I do so long to see my little nephew <4> – I hear he is very fat & robust – Pray write to me again when you have a moment to spare & tell me more

H. F. Talbot Esqr
Lacock Abbey

31 Sackville St


1. Abbotsbury, Dorset: home of William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways.

2. Touched / moved.

3. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

4. William Henry Edgcumbe, ‘Val’, 4th Earl Mt Edgcumbe (1832–1917), JP & Ld Steward of the Royal Household; WHFT’s nephew ‘Bimbo’.

Result number 79 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >