link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 95 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2985
Date: Tue 09 Sep 1834
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA34-38
Last updated: 17th December 2010

Aix les Bains
Tuesday Septr 9th

My dear Henry

Thanks for your wee letter but pray write me a longer one with the promised account of your journey. It is a pity you overtired yourselves & I am sorry to hear from Papa <1> that you are not yet quite restored. I suppose it must have been the heat which has been very great here, but I should rather have enjoyed it if the instant it grows cool in the evening I was not ordered in & shut up for fear of damp. We had a violent hurricane last night & thunder & floods of rain all the morning so I am afraid there is an end of our fine hot weather. Were you not surprized to see Papa walk in he tells me Mama <2> is better. I do think the douches here would do her feet good but that of course Dr Prvost can judge of better than I can.

It is very tantalizing to think Caroline <3> & you & Constance <4> should be all so near me & yet I cannot see you. You must not fix any time for going back till I come, you know there can be no particular hurry for going back now you have come all this way. If I can but take my douches 2 days running without too much fatigue I shall get over the ground much quicker. I am certainly much better, & have actually taken rides on donkeys for the last 3 days. It is a beautiful country & there are nice lanes to ride in & mountains to climb up for those who have sufficient energy.

Give my love to Constance I am afraid the letter I wrote her was lost which is a great pity tell her as it was very interesting

yr affte
Horatia

Monsieur
Mr Fox Talbot

aux Dlices
prs Genve


Notes:

1. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (17801837), Royal Navy; WHFTs step-father.

2. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

3. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, ne Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (18081881); WHFTs half-sister.

4. Constance Talbot, ne Mundy (18111880), WHFTs wife.

Result number 95 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >