link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 100 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3147
Date: Sun 11 Oct 1835
Postmark: 19 Oct 1835
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Henrietta Horatia Maria, née Feilding
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA35(MW)-64
Last updated: 10th March 2012

Nizza di mare Domenica
11 Ottobre

My dear Henry

It is ages since we have had any direct communication & I cannot bear it any longer – pray let me have a letter from you as soon as you have a leisure moment to spare for me. I am afraid you will be disappointed at not having Mama <1> with you this winter, as she had determined to go home & written you word of it so positively – but at the same time I know you will be glad for my sake that she has changed her mind. Only think how dismal it would have been for Papa <2> & me to be left here for the whole winter without her or Caroline. <3> My only regret is that she is tired of this place & thinks it disagrees with her – but I do hope our stars will send us some agreeable society to amuse her, & that we shall be able to persuade her to ride & walk more than she did last year, & which is so essential to her health. Hitherto we have not heard of anybody we know coming except Ld & Ly W. Bentinck <4> I should like to know him very much from all I have heard of his character & from Jacquemont’s description of him. I am afraid the idea of cholera will frighten people away from Italy this year – it is curious that we should have had it here so very slightly (not more than 220 died) while at Genoa it has been so dreadful, & so far from being confined to the poor people in dirty houses, that one of the victims was the Marchese Serra, the proprietor of the Sale d’Oro. This shews what a delightful climate Nice is, even the malignant nature of the cholera was softened by its balmy breezes. I wish you could be wafted here to enjoy them, whenever you are oppressed with the heavy air of a foggy day in England. I hope your tour in the Welsh mountains did you good – tell me all about it. As for Constance <5> it is an immense while since she has taken any notice of us I hope that the Cowes air has quite restored her streng[th]<6> & that your dear little Ela <7> is flourishing as ever – How I long to see her, & you – do you know it is a whole year since you left us at Geneva – we have never been parted near so long before in our lives –

We came back to town ten days ago & are now settled in a new apartment, very nice & clean, just built but not so near the sea as our old one. It appears now that we are not to go to Turin after all (the changes & changes of this mortal life) but any letters you may have sent there will not be lost as we mean to send for them, Addio fratello carissimo <8>

Yr affte Sister

Did you observe a meteor on the 17th of July about 8 in the evg I saw it here, & read an account of it afterwards in the newspaper from Milan.

Pray write us all the news, political or not when I hear of your [illegible deletion] being settled at Laycock, I mean to give you sundry commissions to execute.

W Henry Fox Talbot Esqre
Laycock Abbey
Chippenham Wilts


1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

2. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

3. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

4. Lady Mary Cavendish-Bentinck, wife of William Cavendish-Bentinck, Governor-General of India.

5. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife.

6. Written off the edge of page.

7. Ela Theresa Talbot (1835–1893), WHFT’s 1st daughter.

8. Goodbye dear brother.

Result number 100 of 200:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >