link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 1 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 113
Date: Wed
Dating: no later than 28 Aug 1830 marriage
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: FRAMPTON Harriot Louisa, née Fox Strangways
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 19th February 2012

My Dr Henry

Not that you are the least bit dear to me at present – If you missed my letter to Paris <1> you did not miss all my messages & notes to London – & after just saying you hoped to contrive to come here Wednesday, you put it off till Thursday, & Now in the most barefaced manner put it off till Friday or Saturday – where I really shd not care a bit for you, as I wished so particularly you shd meet Mary <2> &c here – Mary goes Friday, & the rest Monday, & if you had paid proper attention to my numerous notes you would have discovered that we do not move en masse to Melbury, <3> as I am not going there at all. – We wished particularly to have had you for the fair, but if you are not in time to see our Yule log lighted Christmas Eve I do not want you at all, the least bit. – And any how you will have lost so many days of our Christmas meeting, as [illegible] will soon arrive –

After you have once looked at the Garden at Abby, you might botanize in idea with William as well hereafter at Melbury as at Abby. – How could you suppose I shd open any bodies letter? I do not know your hand, & certainly shd not think of such a thing if I did – & I cant think what put it into your head – Harriot <4> says one to [Henry?] went on by Henry [illegible deletion] but I do not know it was yours, nor did I know you had written. – Your bed is tired of waiting for you & so am I of expecting you –

My dr Henry
as you behave
Yours affly
H Frampton

Moreton <5>

H. Talbot Esqr


1. Letter not located.

2. Possibly Mary Frampton (1773–1846), botanist & author.

3. Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there.

4. Harriot Georgiana Mundy, née Frampton (1806-1886),WHFT’s cousin & sister-in-law.

5. Moreton, Dorset: home of the Frampton family.

Result number 1 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >