link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 6727
Date: 30 Jan 1853
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GAISFORD Thomas
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 7th February 2011

Piazza de Spagna 53
Jan 30

My dear Talbot –

I must write a hurried note to tell you of the sad loss we have sustained, I have written more details to Caroline, <1> on Thursday morning last Mr Nicholl <2> expired, having been quite unconscious for a day previous – He was very much over excited by the last elections & tho’ he wd not allow it allow it – much annoyed by the result, on his return for a month’s stay at Naples for his wife’s health, he with 3 others of the [sic] were taken ill with what they thought the effects of Malaria from sleeping at Cisterna,<3> however his head soon became affected & they feared softening of the brain, I saw him 10 days ago & hoped, as thought the Doctors, that the crisis was passed, however fever returned followed by dysentery & for the last few days there was little hope, none on the last, on Wednesday he fell into a state of unconsciousness & never spoke again. – Tis a most deplorable loss to the family 3 of whom were in very delicate health, they are all better than I expected Mrs N. <4> in bed but she speaks very cheerfully. – To me he is an immense loss you know how much I owed him – The funeral has taken place here by his wish, This spares them protracted suffering.

I have heard that small one was going to write to me from Lacock. I shall be but glad to hear, tho’ I cant say that I deserve a letter, never having written one –

Yours Affly

Via di Mare
Henry Fox Talbot Esqre
Lacock Abbey


1. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister.

2. Dr John Nicholl (1797–1853), MP.

3. Cisterna di Latina, a town of central Italy.

4. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

Result number 3 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >