link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 5:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 8108
Date: 04 Jun 1860
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc 21689 (envelope)
Last updated: 20th November 2012

[engraved address:]
Dumfries NB

4. June 1860.

My dear Mr Talbot,

Tilly has received both your letters, but as I am better acquainted than she is with the subject of one of them, I have taken upon me to write in her stead. It will be very easy for me to make the enquiries you wish about Glen Stewart, and I shall be most happy to do so. – We intend to be in Dumfries tomorrow, and I expect to be then able to obtain all the preliminary information –

Glen Stewart House is the property of Ld Queensberry, and was occupied by the late Marquis until about 3 or 4 years ago when on the death of his father he removed to the principal Seat, Kinmount, in the immediate neighbourhood of which Glen Stewart is situated – (it is in fact I believe actually within the park of Kinmount)

I do not know who has been occupying it since the late Lds’ death departure, or in what state the furniture &c may be. The family to which it belongs is not now a wealthy one, and the present proprietor being a minor (& at sea) it is not likely that much has been or will be done in the way of embellishment but all this I can easily ascertain at Dumfries, where I expect to see the private Agent of the family. –

I have never been nearer the house than the line of Railway or the old Mail road. from [sic] these points the neighbourhood appears generally to be flat but pretty well wooded.

I am afraid from what I know of the customs of this country, and the eagerness with which even tolerable shooting quarters are sought after that the house will not be let without the shootings, and from the terms of the advertisement I imagine that it is intended to let the house by the year. –

Tilly has just received Mrs Talbots letter of Saturday and I shall attend to its suggestions – I hope to be able to let you hear by tomorrows post the result of my enquiries. Should the replies to our first questions be satisfactory it will be a very simple matter for us both to inspect the place personally & report. –

Believe me to be affectionately yours
J. Gilchrist Clark

[envelope, flap impressed "Speddoch, Dumfries N.B.":]
H. F. Talbot Esq.
Lacock Abbey

Result number 3 of 5:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >