link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 13 of 36:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5736
Date: 26 Sep 1846
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: HENNEMAN Nicolaas
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: acc no 20425 (envelope only)
Last updated: 9th May 2016

Oswestry
26 Sepr/ 26 46

Sir/

I am Sory to inform you that my wife <1> is very ill With an atack of Englis Cohlera so violent that her life was disspared of, but am happy to Say the doctors have pronounced her out off danger now. I riceved a letter, the Same day I wrote to you in Liverpool, of course I Started off to Oswestry imediately and have been here ever since, as I could not leave her; as she is getting better I intend leaving here the beginning off nex week, as she will not be able to leave here for at least a month so the atack has weakened her, She can hardly Speak, thiss Cholera is reigning very much in thiss part off the Country and Several people have died of it, I have been very poorly my Self but I think is was from fright and fatigue, but I am gust well again, and my Wife is thank god recovering fast how luckey She is with her kind friends, I riceved yours thiss morning and will go to Oxford etc, as soon as I get home of course owing to thiss Melancholy sircumstances I have not been able to do any work and altho there are several interesting Objects in the vicenity I think with you that good Oxford views are moore disirable as wee have very few good ones of it, if you have anything to write please to adress to Reading

Your Obidient Servant
N. Henneman

[envelope:]
H. F. Talbot Eqr
Laycock Abbey
Chippenham
Wilts


Notes:

1. Mrs Sarah Henneman, first m. Price ( ca.18111848), housemaid at Lacock Abbey. [See Doc. No: 05752].

Result number 13 of 36:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >