link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 14 of 100:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1148
Date: 07 Jan 1824
Dating: corrected from 1823
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: HOOKER William Jackson
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 5th August 2012

Jany 7th 182 34

My dear Sir

I regret to say that generally speaking I could not send you the rare plants from our garden <1> figured in the Exotic Flora <2>. They are for the most part such as we have still but one of: indeed several, the Orchideć in particular, we have lost altogether. The Chili plants will probably increase & next year of some of them I doubt not I could send you seeds or roots. By far the greater number of plants indeed that I have figured are either from the Liverpool or Edinburgh garden (which are much older establishments) & we have them not ourselves at present.

Of Ferns there are certainly some hardy Europćan & American which we have that would succeed well with the British especially in the mild climate of S. Wales. Anything we can spare I should have much pleasure in sending you: but what I should like best would be that you should make a visit to Scotland & then, at Glasgow, see yourself what you would most wish for; whether among the hardy or the stove plants. You would then at least be sure to have only what you did desire: whereas if we were to send to you without knowing what would be most acceptable you might get many, to you, worthless things.

To M. Gay <3> I have written & offered to send him a copy of my Exotic [Flora] <4> – upon very easy terms & such as will cost him no money. I cannot give it to him, because I must myself buy every copy.

Dr Richardson <5>, Captn Franklin’s <6> compagnon de voyage <7>, has just been passing some days with me. He brought from Mr Edwards a valuable addition to Captn Parry’s <8> arctic collection of plants, amongst which are some new Mosses.

I am, my dear Sir, Very sincerely & Faithfully yours
W. J. Hooker.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
Penrice Castle


1. The Glasgow Botanic Garden, which was then situated at Sandyford Place, about a mile southeast of its present location.

2. William Jackson Hooker, Exotic Flora: containing figures and descriptions of new, rare or otherwise interesting exotic plants,… (Edinburgh and London: W. Blackwood and T. Cadell, 3 volumes, 1823–1827).

3. Jacques Étienne Gay (1768–1864), French botanist.

4. Written off the edge of page.

5. Sir John Richardson (1787–1865), arctic explorer & naturalist.

6. Sir John Franklin (1786–1847), Arctic explorer.

7. Travelling companion.

8. Sir William Edward Parry (1790–1855), Arctic explorer.

Result number 14 of 100:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >