link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 13 of 65:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5364
Date: 25 Aug 1845
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: JONES Calvert Richard
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA45-118
Last updated: 22nd March 2010

Augst 25. 1845.

My dear Sir

I was truly sorry to hear the cause of your unfruitful expedition beyond York; but judging from the weather here, the same results wd have probably followed, had you been able to work.

My Father’s affairs and Colonel Jones’s will not allow my leaving this place just at present; this cause however will, I hope and trust, not last, and nothing wd delight me more than either joining you, or going on in furtherance of the plan.

I shall be very anxious to hear what you have done with Longman, <1> and glad to hear what he considers will be a fair price for good negatives of the present largest size, as I am confident I shall be able to furnish these in any picturesque place, but above all in Venice, where I am so well aquainted [sic] with my ground.

I have been eagerly expecting the Iodised paper <2> which Henneman <3> promised to furnish me with, as I am most anxious to try my hand; and put it off till the receipt of this, as I wish to begin with successful “coups” for encouragement: and to send you something new in the marine line for the “Pencil of Nature”. <4>

Every one here is delighted with the four little gems you sent Mr Dillwyn <5>; such perfection cannot fail to sell: my little girl of 6 knew my figure, which is the best testimony.

Pray be so kind as tell [sic] me how you get on with Longman: it strikes me that a series of views following the Queen’s steps, <6> wd be a taking form for a work just at present; but perhaps it wd be too extensive a plan.

yours ever truly
Calvert R. Jones

Should you not be able to carry out the whole of this tour, I might possibly complete it for you, shd it be approved of.


1. Longman & Company, publishers, London. [See Doc. No: 05022].

2. Paper preliminarily prepared for making calotype negatives - it was then sensitised just before use.

3. Nicolaas Henneman (1813–1898), Dutch, active in England; WHFT’s valet, then assistant; photographer.

4. WHFT, The Pencil of Nature (London: Longman, Brown, Green, & Longmans, June 1844–April 1846 [issued in six fascicles]).

5. John Dillwyn Llewelyn (1810–1882), Welsh photographer, JP & High Sheriff.

6. Queen Victoria and Prince Albert toured Germany in 1845.

Result number 13 of 65:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >