link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 19 of 65:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5448
Date: 24 Nov 1845
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: JONES Calvert Richard
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA45-151
Last updated: 25th March 2010

Novbr 24. 1845.

My dear Sir,

I think it will be desirable for me to have some more paper, and I shall therefore feel much obliged if you will request Henneman <1> to send me 100 pieces of the best and surest he can command; directed to this place with as little delay as possible

I am sorry to say that I have done very little as yet, the weather through France was dark and impracticable I did however a couple of views at Avignon. On our arrival here I was much disappointed at finding that my box containing my Chemicals and paper had not come, nor will it arrive before the 30th, in the mean time I must trust to your Cousin <2> for a supply; he has not done much, as he is much taken up with Lady Charlotte; <3> I grieve to say that I cannot as yet see much amendment in her, but trust in Providence that these glorious climates may do much.

This is a splendid place for Photographic subjects, I have tried a few Dags, <4> but cannot leave them short enough so they all get solarised.

We had a wearisome business in Posting through France having taken a somewhat unfrequented route from Orlean to Lyons, I cd not have believed any thing to be so behind hand in this arc of the world.

Our voyage here in Le Caire was propitious but the sea so heavy that almost all the Officers were sick, two of them did not make their apearance till the latter end: I was happily well and able to help our suffering party

With best hopes of receiving the paper soon directed



I remain yours very truly
Calvert R Jones.


1. Nicolaas Henneman (1813–1898), Dutch, active in England; WHFT’s valet, then assistant; photographer.

2. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

3. Lady Charlotte Butler (1809–1846), wife of ‘ Kit’ Talbot.

4. Daguerreotypes.

Result number 19 of 65:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >