link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 17:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2121
Date: Thu 1831
Dating: 1831?
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: SEYMER Harriet Ker, née Beckford
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 24th November 2010

My dear Mr Talbot

Your letter <1> the dated Tuesday has unfortunately only just reached me owing to our being from home. We however return home tomorrow & shall be most happy to have the day you are so good as to spare us in your way to Town. Mr Seymer <2> & myself are particularly glad you can come to us Saturday as Monday some of us are engaged to dine out & Tuesday we are going from home for 2 or 3 days I hear so much croaking about the present state of things that it will be quite a relief to see some one who does not croak and you seem determined to see all en couleur de rose <3> We all unite in kind regards to yourself & yr family circle at Melbury <4>

Believe me sincerely yrs
Harriet Ker Seymer

Thursday morng

Henry F. Talbot Esqre


1. Letter not located.

2. Her husband, Henry Ker Seymer (1782-1834), JP, MP & Sheriff of Dorset.

3. Rosy-coloured.

4. Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there.

Result number 2 of 17:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >