link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 5:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1312
Date: 19 Sep 1825
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: LAMBERT Aylmer Bourke
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Boyton House

19 Sept. 1825.

Dear Sir/

I am sorry I had not the pleasure of your Company on Saturday last as you intended, but am glad to learn I am to be favored with your company soon.

It is my intention to return from Stourhead on Saturday next. I received a Letter from Sir James Smith <1> by the same post as that from you, saying He and Lady Smith <2> will be with me on the 5th of next month. I hope for some days, and shall be glad to see you for as long as you can make it convenient at the same Time.

I intend paying a visit to Mr & Mrs Selwin <3> <sic> in the course of the present week, and will endeavour to persuade them to give you the meeting here. I had a very interesting Letter from Mr Strangwayes <4> <sic> a short Time ago, containing a great deal of botanical Information and adding he was about to send me several Books of Plants.

I am Dear Sir
yrs very sincerely

A Bourke Lambert <5>

W. H. Talbot Esqre
4 Mall Buildings
near Bristol.


1. Sir James Edward Smith, MD (1759–1828), botanist.

2. Lady Pleasance Smith (1773–1877).

3. Misspelling of Rev Townshend Selwyn (1783–1853), botanist & Canon of Gloucester, and his wife.

4. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (1795–1865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

5. The signature is the same to the author of Doc. No: 01306, and Doc. No: 01308, but the handwriting of letter is different.

Result number 3 of 5:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >