link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 20 of 33:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 4088
Date: 12 Jun 1840
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: FITZMAURICE Henry Petty
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA40-49
Last updated: 27th August 2012

12th June 1840

To the High Sheriff of the County of Wilts

We the undersigned being impressed with the strongest feelings of horror and indignation at the atrocious attack which has lately been made on the life of her Majesty request you to convene at your earliest convenience a meeting of the Inhabitants of the County of Wilts for the purpose of enabling us together with the whole of the Inhabitants of Wiltshire to offer our congratulations to her Majesty <1> and to our country on her Majestys happy preservation from so great a danger.

[individual original signatures:]

Lansdowne <2> Sidney Herbert <3>
Radnor <4> John Benett <5>
Bruce<6> Jos. Neeld <7>
Heytesbury <8> Willm Wyndham <9>
Arundell <10> T H S Sotheron <11>
Andover<12> G Walker Heneage <13>
Shelburne <14> Wadham Wyndham<15>
Ailesbury<16> John Neeld <17>
Ernest Bruce <18> E: H Court <19>
Methuen <20> F. W. Slade<21>
Francis Burdett <22>
Amb: Goddard <23>


1. Victoria (1819-1901), Queen of the United Kingdom (1837-1901), Empress of India (1876-1901).

2. Henry Petty Fitzmaurice, 3rd Marquess of Lansdowne (1780-1863), MP, WHFT's uncle.

3. Sydney Herbert, Baron Herbert of Lea (1810-1861), politician.

4. William Pleydell-Bouverie, 3rd Earl of Radnor (1779-1869), Whig politician.

5. John Benett (b. 1773), MP, sat for Wiltshire South from 1819 until 1852.

6. George William Frederick Brudenell-Bruce, 2nd Marquess of Ailesbury (1804-1878), politician and courtier.

7. Joseph Neeld (1789-1856), MP & botanist.

8. Sir William Court, 1st Baron Heytesbury (1779-1860).

9. William Wyndham (1796-1862), politician.

10. James Everard, 10th Baron Arundell of Wardour (1785-1834).

11. Thomas Henry Sutton Sotheron Bucknall Estcourt (1801-1876), MP.

12. Charles Howard, Viscount Andover, later 17th Earl of Suffolk (1805-18),elected a Liberal MP for Malmesbury at the 1832 general election.

13. George Heneage Walker Heneage (b. 1799), MP for Devizes from 1838 to 1857.

14. Henry Fitzmaurice, Lord Shelburne, 4th Marquess of Lansdowne (1816-1866), MP.

15. Wadham Wyndham (1773-1843), politician.

16. Charles Brudenell-Bruce, 1st Marquess of Ailesbury (1773-1856).

17. Sir John Neeld (1805-1891), politician.

18. Probably Lord Ernest Augustus Charles Brudenell Bruce (1811-1886), politician.

19. Edward Henry A'Court (1783-1855), later an Admiral.

20. Paul Methuen, Baron Methuen (1779-1849), MP.

21. Frederick William Slade (1802-1863), Q.C., in 1859 became Sir Frederick.

22. Sir Francis Burdett (1770-1844), radical MP.

23. Ambrose Goddard (1779-1854), politician.

Result number 20 of 33:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >