link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 7913
Date: 09 Jul 1859
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003


9th July 1859


Your letter to Mr Green <1> respecting my house at Grasmere has only this morning met my Eye owing to my having been travelling – I therefore think it better to answer it direct to save time.

I had instructed Mr Green not to let my House <2> for less than 3 months, unless it remained unlet up to the End of this month – You are aware that by letting it for 2 months from this time the season will be lost – However as I <illegible deletion> am going abroad next week I have written to Mr Green to say that that <sic> if he has not had an offer for 3 months he may let it to you for £75 for the period you name (which is 9 weeks, less one day I think) When you consider that you will have the entire Crops in the Garden, I think the terms reasonable.

There will be no difficulty about the servant; & unless you wish to make use of my horse of course he will be kept at my Expense

If you wish to continue in the House for 3 months, I wod let it for £90.

May I request the favour of your forwarding an Early answer to Mr Green as he may have other applicants

Begging to apologise for the delay in answering your application

I remain
Yrs obediently

<J?> H. Marshall


1. J F Green

2. see also Doc. No: 07916, Doc. No: 07919 & Doc. No: 08167