link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 6 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3907
Date: 13 Jul 1839
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MARTIUS Carl Friedrich Philipp von
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: envelope 20053
Collection number historic: LA39-48
Last updated: 9th March 2012

My dear Sir!

It was with great pleasure, that I received your notices <1> about the photogenic-drawings. These were laid before the academy, and Profr Steinheil <2> and v. Kobell<3> made a review of your proceding [sic] as far as it appeared from the print. They have also prosecuted the matter from another point of view, as you will see by the inclosed <4> Number of our “gelehrte Anzeigen” and a little design.

Perhaps this letter shall be brought to your hands by His Excellency Count Colloredo, Austrian Ambassador at Munich, a man gifted with gre[at] <5> [illegible] and full of instruction, who takes a particular interest in Ast[ronomy?] [and?] natural Philosophy in general. If he ought to bring himself this letter, loveliness of his character make unnecessary every encomium and I hope you shall be happy in his company.

I beg you to make my respectful compliments to Lady Fielding [sic], your highly honoured mother,<6> and the whole family, and beliefe [sic] me,

Dear Sir! Yours Must [sic] devoted humble servant and fri[end]
Dr v Martius

13. Jul. 1839.

To Henry Fox Talbot Esq
31 Sackville St.
London July Thirteen
H. Fox Talbot Esqr Lacock Abbey


1. See Doc. No: 03800.

2. Carl August von Steinheil (1801–1870), astronomer, physicist and optician. He produced some Daguerreotypes and after a diversion into telegraphy founded his famous optical works in Munich.

3. Franz von Kobell (1803–1882), mineralogist.

3. No enclosure.

4. Page torn away.

5. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

Result number 6 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >