link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 12 of 23:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3535
Date: 08 Jul 1837
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MOORE Thomas (poet)
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA37-33
Last updated: 9th December 2014

Sloperton <1>
July 8h 1837

My dear Talbot –

I have but just returned from my trip, and am most anxious to hear something about Feilding, <2> as, in addition to what I myself witnessed in London, the accounts given me by Mrs Moore <3> of his present state fill me with alarm, and a word from you on the subject would at least be most welcome to me – So, do let me have a line as soon as possible.

Of Mrs Talbot and her new beauty <4> I have heard every thing that is delightful.

Yours most truly
Thomas Moore

H., F. Talbot Esqr
Lacock Abbey


1. Sloperton Cottage, Wiltshire, 1 mi E of Lacock: home of Thomas Moore, the Irish poet.

2. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780 – 2 September 1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

3. Elizabeth (Bessie) Moore, née Dyke (1783–1865), wife of the poet Thomas Moore.

4. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife, and Rosamond Constance ‘Monie’ Talbot (16 March 1837 – 1906), artist & WHFT’s 2nd daughter.

Result number 12 of 23:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >