link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 8 of 80:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 99
Date: Tue 1825
Dating: no later than 1830 - see 01250 William's appoint - likely Sep/Oct
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MUNDY Harriot Georgiana, née Frampton
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 22nd September 2010

Moreton <1>

My dear Henry,

You cannot think how very acceptable your letter was, as it told me something about yourself & every body else, which I wanted to know.

I do not think William <2> is tired of Florence yet, in the first place because I had a letter from him a week ago written in remarkably good spirits & 2ndly because he does not easily get discontented when he thinks that he is duly appreciated which he must know he is now, from Ld Burghersh <3> chusing to stay in England & leaving all the business to him he always gives me the idea of being a person who wants to be encouraged & to know that he is liked You are coming here again as you always do just at a time of year when there is literally not an individual thing for you to see but a solitary Aster altaica, notwithstanding which I hope you will come very soon & not be delayed shooting or any other way. Indeed Mama <4> desires me to say with her love that she has given Mr Feilding <5> leave to remain at Melbury or Redlynch <6> a few days after the rest come here if there is any party or shooting which he wishes to join, but that she has no pity for your shooting & will not give you up for even one day and expects you to be here on whatever day Aunt Lily <7> &c come.

You are much too scarce & valuable to be wasted on Partridges & Pheasants.

William quite forgot the time of year when he wrote & desires me when you come to ask you if a wild Pulmonaria found here with large spotted leaves is angustifolia but he told me himself that it was impossible to judge without seeing the flowers, & the only specimen I ever had which I got one year when we did not go to London I sent to him at the Hague.

I cannot remember on which side of the Troy <8> question you were last year, but I rather think you were indolently waiting till the learned had decided it for you. Mr Wm Bankes <9> differs from me & I am afraid he must be right, tho he professes to know but little on the subject Pray write to me again if you have nothing particular to do. I am sure you would if you knew how much pleasure yr letters give me and us.

Believe me your Affate Cousin
Harriot Frampton

Mama gives me leave to say that I shall expect to hear from you how Stephen <10> is before you go to Redlynch, & once again whilst you are there.

Henry Talbot Esqre


1. Moreton, Dorset: home of the Frampton family.

2. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (17951865), botanist, art collector & diplomat. He was Secretary of Legation at Florence.

3. John Fane, 11th Earl of Westmorland (17841859), statesman.

4. Lady Harriet Frampton, ne Fox Strangways (d. 1844) .

5. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (17801837), Royal Navy; WHFTs step-father.

6. Melbury, Dorset: one of the Fox Strangways family homes; WHFT was born there and Redlynch, Somerset, seat of the Earls of Ilchester (Barons of Redlynch).

7. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

8. Probably the site of Troy, which was a matter of dispute.

9. William John Bankes (17861855), politician.

10. Possibly Stephen Fox Strangways (18171848), son of Henry Stephen Fox Strangways, 3rd Earl of Ilchester (17871858).

Result number 8 of 80:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >