link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 10 of 80:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1236
Date: Sat Sep 1825
Dating: date estimated from 01242, 01334, 07853
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MUNDY Harriot Georgiana, née Frampton
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA25(MW)-81
Last updated: 10th December 2010

My dear Henry

I cannot enclose a letter on from Florence without just telling you that Uncle Wm’s <1> Datura hybrida is blowing beautifully, as you heard I dare say of his anxiety & fuss about it, as well as Mr Lambert’s. <2> It only opens for one day so I cannot send any specimens but it looks white & with a long tube like any other Datura – His Solanum arboreum has blown too very well & several other things & all his pets are uncommonly well. I wish you could see the gardens &cc now, instead of coming in the dead of winter as is your custom, for they look very pretty & the grass delightfully green & fresh – Uncle Harry & the Belmores <3> are here shooting now, & Uncle H. is in remarkably good spirits – Henry <4> is trying to do his best to like shooting and I think he improves a little, tho’ unfortunately the weather has been so oppressively hot that it is scarcely a fair trial – I suppose you hear of Kit from Penrice, <5> but in case you should not have heard the latest intelligence, you may be glad to know that he is now on his Voyage to Lisbon, <6> where he intends to end his Cruize for this year & give up going to the Mediterranean till next summer.

We should be very much obliged if you would sit down & given us a short history of Penrice & yourselves as we have not heard how the Talbots & Charlotte <7> are for an age, nor of you since you were settled at Clifton <8> – Mr William Bankes <9> has been staying here which was a most delightful treat to us, as he is quite as agreeable as ever and entertained us extremely.

With kind love to all believe me My dear Henry Your Affate Cousin
Harriet Frampton

Moreton <10>

Saturday Eveng.

Henry Talbot Esqr


1. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (1795–1865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

2. Aylmer Bourke Lambert (1761–1842), botanist.

3. Henry Stephen Fox Strangways, 3rd Earl of Ilchester (1787–1858); Somerset Lowry-Corry, 2nd Earl Belmore (1774–1841), Governor of Jamaica, and his wife, Lady Juliana, Countess Belmore, née Butler (1783-1861).

4. Henry Frampton (1804-1879).

5. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

6. Christopher Talbot’s voyage to Lisbon dates this letter to 1825. [See Doc. No: 01314].

7. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

8. Clifton, Bristol, on the Avon Gorge.

9. William John Bankes (1786–1855), politician.

10. Moreton, Dorset: home of the Frampton family.

Result number 10 of 80:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >