link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 15 of 15:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 7966
Date: 30 Sep 1859
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MURRAY Amelina Matilda
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc 22872 (envelope)
Last updated: 13th November 2012

Carolside Earlston Berwickshire
Sepr 30th/59

Dear Henry

I was in Edinh the day before yesterday in my way here from the Carse of Gowrie, & did all I could think of to find you & Mrs Talbot but in vain, – it did not cross my mind to try the P. O. so perhaps this will reach you – I have been in Scotland since Augt & mean to spend nearly the whole of this next month in Roxburghshire & Berwick, cannot you run down the Kelso line some day to find me? There are not so many of our generation left that we should ignore old friends. I shall be here about ten days 6 miles from Melrose, then at Floors Castle, one mile from the Kelso station that place is worth seeing, the new gardens magnificent, I could shew them to you & I feel sure the Duke & Duchess (who are among my numerous cousins) would let me invite you to have some lunch – What have you been doing lately? I suppose you joined the Aberdeen meeting – I want to hear something of your bride & bridegroom, has he any avocation? Why did you begin at the wrong end of your family? my love to Mrs T. & your two remaining girls if they have not forgotten me – how is Madlle Amelina? I have been enjoying ten days at St Andrews, such a pleasant interesting place! do you know it? good bathing, rocks & sands – cheap houses & living – Capital Golf playing (for those who enjoy it.) & such ruins & sketching! I was quite sorry to come away, tho’ entirely on my “own book” & Knowing no one – I found out a capital old botanist too, with the best collection of British Ferns I ever saw, in an old Greenhouse at the back of his shop – did you ever hear of Howie? I bought P. fontana A. [vindi?] & a beautiful var of Athyrium – by the bye he calls the 1st an Asplenium is it so?

Yours ever sincerely
Amelia M Murray

Henry Fox Talbot Esqr.
Lacock Abbey

Result number 15 of 15:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >