link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 8:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2634
Date: 11 Mar 1833
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MURRAY T Lamie
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA33(MW)-048
Last updated: 1st September 2003

<printed form letter>

6, Upper Gloucester Place, Dorset Square,

11th March, 1833.


I am requested to enclose you the accompanying Resolutions, and to request your attendance on Wednesday, 13th inst. at 2 o’clock precisely, at the House of Sir Charles Burrell, Bart. M. P., <1> 5, Richmond Terrace, to hear the Report of the Deputation appointed to wait on the Chancellor of the Exchequer; Sir Charles having kindly permitted the use of his house for the purpose instead of the Thatched House, as named at the former Meeting.

I have the honor to be,
Your obedient Servant,

T. Lamie Murray.

<manuscript> Fox Talbot Esq MP


The following Resolutions were unanimously adopted at a Meeting held on the 7th Inst., at the House of Sir C. Burrell, Bart. M. P.


1. That in entering upon the important subject of this Meeting, we disavow all Party Principle, or any intention to embarrass His Majesty’s <2> Government.

2. That it is desirable that a Parliamentary Enquiry should be instituted to investigate the Distress which has so long prevailed, and does still prevail, among the Industrious and Productive Classes, which has affected and endangered every species of Property – with a view to ascertain whether it be not connected with the present Monetary System, and whether that System do not admit of some safe amelioration.

3. That a Deputation consisting of the following Members of Parliament, viz. Sir C. Burrell, Bart., Lord George Bentinck, Lord Mahon, Sir Francis Burdett, Bart., E. S. Cayley, Esq., John Maxwell, Esq., <3> N. Calvert, Esq., and P. M. Stuart, Esq., do wait on Lord Althorp, <4> to express to him, in the name of the Meeting, their stong sense of the propriety and necessity of the foregoing Resolution.

4. That the Deputation do report the result of their interview with the Chancellor of the Exchequer at another Meeting.

Fox Talbot Esqr M P.
31 Sackville St


1. Sir Charles Burrell (1774–1862).

2. William IV (1765–1837), King of England (1830–1837).

3. Lord William George Frederick Bentinck (1802–1848), MP, sat for Lynn Regis; Lord Mahon (1805–1875), MP; Sir Francis Burdett (1770–1844), MP, sat for Westminster in 1832, again in 1835; Edward Stillingfleet Cayley (1802–1862), MP & editor; probably John Maxwell (d. 1865), author and MP, sat for Lanarkshire in 1832.

4. John Charles Spencer, Viscount Althorp, 3rd Earl of Spencer (1782–1845), politician.

Result number 3 of 8:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >