link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 3:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5705
Date: 08 Aug 1877
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: PINCHES Theophilus Goldridge
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

<P crest> cambridge

63, Newman St.,

London, W.

Aug 8th, 1877.

Dear Sir,

I must apologise for not sending you these copies before, but I wanted to be quite certain of the correctness of my copies before sending them to you, but Dr Birch being out of town, I was unable to compare them. Even now I have only had time to-day to compare two, and look again at the Tablet, K.6., but as soon as I have compared the others, I will send you copies of them.

The Tablet K.6. is in excellent condition, and there is no doubt whatever about any of the characters, except at the end of line 11, which I find, on examining it in a different light, to be <cuneiform>, and not <cuneiform>. The sign <cuneiform> is not rubbed nor damaged in the least, and I do not think the scribe intended to write <cuneiform>, because the Tablet is altogether so carefully written. Your first rendering is, undoubtedly, the right one.

On the edge of the Tablet K.21, at the top, as if a continuation of line 1 of the reverse, but written higher up and much smaller, is this group – <cuneiform> but I think two of the wedges are only little holes in the clay, and that the signs are si-khu; it does not appear to be ar, because there are not two upright wedges in the second part of the group.

As I have made two copies of each, I do not want these returned.

I am, Dear Sir, Yours most respectfully

Theo. G. Pinches.

W. H. F. Talbot, Esq.

Result number 3 of 3:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >