link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 9 of 19:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2020
Date: 12 Jul 1830
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: PORTER Charles
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA30-034
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Wing Rectory

July 12. 1830.

Dear Talbot

Soon after I answered your last letter, <1> on the 14th of June, <2> I heard from the Incumbent of Paddington, to inform me that his curacy had been accepted by a prior applicant for it.

I have not heard of any other curacy that I like, and am now at liberty after this month – I intend to go, hence, to Leamington till I hear of a curacy – my only occupation will be to prepare for a month’s preaching, April 1831, at Cambridge; to which the Professor of Divinity has invited me – I also intend to take my B.D. Degree next June; and must keep my exercises for it next May – I shall therefore be necessarily called away from my cure, should I obtain one, for the greater part of next April and May –

From the letter you were so good as to send me, and the reported state of Mr Paley’ <3>s health, I yet indulge the hope that your friendly interference might procure for me the curacy of Lacock – I suppose there must be a curate there, again, before the winter is over; and should you think it right, and be disposed to name me again to the Vicar, I shall be at your service I write, with the expectation of your being yet in Town, and to give you an idea of my wishes, and intended movements, a letter directed here this month, and afterwards at Leamington, will find me –

Believe me, very truly yours

Charles Porter

Did I tell you that Mr Paley had described in a letter to me, the parsonage at Lacock: but I can hardly think he has done it accurately – He speaks of the kitchen, 8 or 10 feet wide – If his description is correct, I doubt whether the house would suit us –

Henry Fox Talbot Esqre
31. Sackville Street
Laycock Abbey <4>
Post office <5>


1. Letter not located.

2. See Doc. No: 02007.

3. Rev James Paley (1790–1863), Vicar at Lacock.

4. Readdressed in another hand.

5. Readdressed in another hand.

Result number 9 of 19:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >