link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 3923
Date: 22 Aug 1839
Dating: answered 23rd
Recipient: ROSS James Clark
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: Royal Society, London
Collection number: Sa 1683
Last updated: 5th April 2010

31 Sackville St <1>
Aug. 22d 1839

[in another hand:] “ans. 23d<2>

Dear Sir

Hearing that you had some intention of making drawings in the Southern Regions with the Camera Obscura I would have offered any assistance in my power to you but that I knew you could not possibly spare the time that would be requisite.

I enclose a little sketch <3> made with a camera of my house in the country, of which I request your acceptance.

I wrote at some length to Mr Mc Cormick <4> who was desirous of putting in practice my method of drawing, <5> but I have heard nothing from him in reply, I presume therefore that my answers to his inquiries were sufficient, & that he did not want any further information. I only mention this lest my letter to him should have miscarried.

I am dear Sir yours most truly
H.F. Talbot

with all good wishes for the success of the expedition


1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Letter not located.

3. This particular print has not been traced and WHFT took numerous views of Lacock in 1839. However, it may have been another print of the image WHFT sent to Bertoloni the previous day, 21 August 1839 [see Doc. No: 03921], now in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NY. That print is illustrated in Beaumont Newhall, Latent Image: The Discovery of Photography (New York: Doubleday & Company, 1967), plate 9.

4. Dr Robert Mccormick (1800–1890), surgeon & naturalist.

5. That is, photogenic drawing.