link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 4 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1385
Date: 24 Feb 1826
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: SMITH James Edward
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003


Feby 24. 1826.

Dear Sir

Having a free conveyance, I cannot refrain from acknowledging your kind letter of the 21st

We hope to have the pleasure of your company on your return from your intended voyage, which Lady Smith <1> joins with me in wishing may be in every respect prosperous. –

It does not occur to me to mention any book for your use except what you must be acquainted with.

As to any particular tribe of plants, I shall be more especially obliged to you for any Orchideæ, as I have already taken pains to make it as perfect as I can. –

Your Lilium & Fritillaria lutea if you could spare specimens would be highly acceptable & I have no doubt that my herbarium would be greatly benefitted <sic> by your communications.

Have you ever gathered in Italy Saponaria bellidifolia described in my Spicilegium, figured in Columna’s Ecphrasis p.153, & confounded by Linns with his S. lutea? I saw it in some Parisian herbarium. –

You will probably be too much engaged before your departure to send me any thing, but if otherwise any packet or letter will be forwarded to me if sent free to Mr Richd Taylor, Printer, 38 Shoe Lane.

I need not say how happy I shall be to make any return in my power from my collection. –

Believe me
Dear Sir
Yr very faithful servt

J E Smith.

H. F. Talbot Esqre
31 Sackville Street. Worthing <2>


1. Lady Pleasance Smith (1773–1877).

2. Readdressed in another hand.

Result number 4 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >