link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 8 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1471
Date: 29 Aug 1826
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: SMITH James EdwardS
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: bot
Last updated: 1st September 2003


Aug. 29. 1826.

Dear Sir

I received your obliging letter <1> this day, as well as the book from Profr Bertoloni, <2> for both which I beg leave to return my best thanks.

I also received in due course your two letters <3> from Corfu, rich in botanical information. –

If you would send me specimens of any of your plants that want determination I would carefully compare them with mine & Sibthorp’s, <4> though I could not promise to work at them immediately. I must devote my time to my own Flora, <5> so as to be beforehand with the printing of the 4th volume. If however they are not very numerous, & you wish to prepare your paper for an early meeting of Linn. Socy, <6> I will look at them as soon as possible.

We are going to Lowestoft for 2 or 3 weeks, after which I hope to be settled at home, & to have no interruption to my own pursuits.

I do not wonder that you have found in the Ionian isles many plants that Sibthorp did not meet with, but I think you mention more than one as new (in your letters) that are in Sibthorp – as Phalaris intriculata, which you will find under Alopecurus.

I trust you will look at my English Flora before you undertake the Umbelliferæ. <7> I want to arrange the foreign ones, but have not time at present. Sprengel <8> makes great mistakes, & Hoffmann <9> more.

Mr D. Don, <10> who has been a few days with me, will take this letter to town. –

I hope another year will be more propitious to our meeting.

Lady Smith <11> joins in best compts
with dear Sir

Yr very obedt servt

J. E. Smith.

I am very glad to hear you intend to favour the Linn. Soc. with a paper.

W H F Talbot Esqr
31 Sackville Street.


1. See Doc. No: 01470.

2. Antonio Bertoloni (1775–1869), Amoenitates Italicæ (Bologna: 1819).

3. See Doc. No: 01422, and Doc. No: 01413.

4. John Sibthorp (1758–1796), botanist.

5. This was probably The English flora (London: Longman, Rees, Orme, Brown and Green, 1828).

6. Linnean Society, London.

7. See Doc. No: 01470.

8. Kurt Sprengel (1766–1833), botanist.

9. Georg Franz Hoffmann (1761–1826), botanist

10. David Don (1800–1841), Scottish botanist.

11. Lady Pleasance Smith (1773–1877).

Result number 8 of 9:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >