link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 2:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3216
Date: Mar 1836
Recipient: STEUDEL Ernst Gottleib
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

London, 31 Sackville St <1>

March 1836

Cl. Domine

Plantas nonnullas Caucasicas mihi misit <illegible deletion> Unio Itinerarìa, <2> sed paucissimas – Igitur te rogo ut mihi dicas, quantas accipere debui – Hâc de re Hunnemannium <3> rogavi at ille respondere non potuit, ob amissas schedas suas ad id pertinentes.

Accepi à Societate vestrâ plantas è Sardiniâ, Smyrnâ, Capite Bonæ Spei ac Pyrenæis montibus, satis magno numero, sed mihi videtur quod etiam pro aliorum regionum plantis pretium solvi, quas non acceptas habeo.

Te precor igitur ut mihi mittas si potes calculum integrum pecuniæ à me per Hunnemannium acceptæ, cùm ille neget se ejus rei memoriam habere, nec scire quantum aut pro quibus plantis subscripsi.

Plantas Arabiæ, Egypti, Algeriæ, Hispaniæ montium “Sierra Nevada” dictorum, possidere cupio. Si igitur nondum pro his subscripsi (quod non memini si feci, necne) earum pretium ad te missurus sum directé, quod meliùs videtur.

Plantas Caucasicas accepi tantum

Vale Domine Cl.
Cultor sui observantissimus

H. F. Talbot


London, 31 Sackville St

March 1836

Most Distinguished Sir

Some Caucasian plants have been sent to me by the Unio Itineraria, but very few – I therefore beg you to tell me how many I ought to have received – I asked Hunnemann about this but he was unable to give me an answer as he did not have the relevant sheet to hand.

I have received from your Society plants from Sardinia, Smyrna, the Cape of Good Hope and the Pyrenæan mountains in sufficient number, but it seems to me that even though I have paid for plants from other regions, I have not received them.

Pray therefore send me if you will the entire calculation of the money received by Hunnemann from me, since he says he has no recollection of the matter and does not know how much or for which plants I have subscribed.

I desire to possess plants from Arabia, Egypt, Algeria and the mountains of Spain known as the “Sierra Nevada”. If therefore I have not yet subscribed for these (I cannot recall whether or not I have done so) I shall send the money for them direct to you, which appears to be a better arrangement.

I have received enough plants from the Caucasus.

Farewell, Distinguished Sir
Yours most respectfully

H. F. Talbot


1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. See Doc. No: 03036, to which this letter relates.

3. James Hunneman, London nurseryman.

Result number 2 of 2:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >