link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 1 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 8444
Date: 28 Aug 1861
Dating: 1861?
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: JOLLIFFE Sophia Penelope, née Sheffield
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA61-128
Last updated: 17th February 2012

[monogram: SP]

Augt 28th

Dear Henry Talbot

We are very pleased to hear your good news of Mathilda [sic], as it must be a very great source of pleasure to her; and also to you all that she is doing so well after the Birth of her Son: I did not know of the expectations though I concluded by Mrs Talbot’s remaining in Scotland there was some reason for her wishing to be near Mathilda – and also to Mrs Talbot, & & [sic] yr Daughters –

William has been rather looking for a letter from you, to tell him of all the curious Flowers that you met with on your Tour – We have only just come back from a round of visits in Wales, where the weather was not good – Now the summer has really begun, and all seem happy at the prospect of a fine Harvest –

We are staying here till the middle of Sepr when we go into Lincolnsh & probably take Markeaton in the way.

This week I am expecting my married Brother, I am most curious to see my Sister-in-Law, I hear she is very pretty, & in every way a great addition to our Family –

With Wm’s kind regards –

Believe me Yrs Truly
Sophia Ilchester

Result number 1 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >