link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 5 of 971:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 5146
Date: Thu
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Constance, née Mundy
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 30th August 2010

Thursday

My dear Henry

We are very glad to hear of your safe arrival & we congratulate you on your having travelled with your accustomed fortunate celerity. I wonder how you prosper in your lodging? you have at least some brighter weather for your operations than you had here of late.

Lady Elisabeth <1> is quite determined on going back to Sackville Street <2> tomorrow though Horatia <3> is anxious to remain till Saturday, especially as the weather is become fine

Why dont you explain to your correspondent that the name of Your Abbey is not Calke? I wonder his letters find their way at all

Your affte
Constance


Notes:

1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

2. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

3. Henrietta Horatia Maria Gaisford, ne Feilding (18101851), WHFTs half-sister.

4. Calke Abbey is near Ticknall, Derbyshire, near the Mundy residence. WHFT must have had some connection with it - see Doc. No: 08699. The correspondent is unidentified and there are no known surviving letters addressed to WHFT this way.

Result number 5 of 971:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >