link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 1 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 104
Date: Tue
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Mary Thereza
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 20th June 2007

Princes buildings


My dear Henry

Your kind proposal of coming to Penrice <1> delighted me and I hope you will be able to execute such a pleasant project in August, I am not likely to be any further off than Penllergare <2> which I consider next door & they always send me back if I want to go in a hurry!

We had indeed a sad wet journey & I gave up going to see Mrs Selwyn <3> at Bath in consequence of it. My nice little plants travelled very well and I hope if you come to Penrice you may find some old favorites to carry away with you.

Isabella <4> was delighted with the Campanula vinæflora, which she had never seen or the Cistus lævipes which is a most delicate looking plant. -

I shall have great pleasure in saving you all the seeds I can but I fear there will not be many worth having for Lacock where you have such a variety -

How stupid people are to pass by curious or even common weeds without finding out their difference from those of this country. Rice Nicholl & Charles Franklen <5> did their best to dig up roots with a dinner knife! but I do not know whether either of them thought of seeds! -

We have a fine drying wind today! so I hope the hay will not be the worse for its wetting - Annie <6> enjoyed her visit very much and has been amusing her sick Sister with an account of the dear old Abbey & all she saw indoors & out of doors -

I am your affate coz


Isabella is gone up to Town for a few days to see her son Charles she has not been there for 14 years! we intend to remain a few days longer to take care of Susie <7> before her Mother returns. -


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. Penllergaer, Glamorgan, 5 mi E of Loughor: home of the Llewelyn family.

3. Possibly a relation of Rev Townshend Selwyn (1783-1853), botanist, Vicar of Kilmington, Somerset, and Canon of Gloucester.

4. Isabella Catherine Franklen, née Talbot (1804-1874).

5. Christopher Rice Havard Nicholl (b. 1836), Jane Harriot Nicholl's fifth son Charles Franklen, son of Isabella Franklen.

6. Annie Franklen, daughter of Isabella Franklen.

7. Susie Franklen, daughter of Isabella Franklen.

Result number 1 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >