link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 132 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 7663
Date: 09 Jul 1858
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Mary Thereza
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc no 21000 (envelope only)
Last updated: 23rd June 2015

Brickworth<1>
July 9

My dear Henry

The other day I was at Dr Fowlers <2> he has a Tulip tree of which he is very proud the flowers are finer than those of the common Tulip trees I am told. he did not raise it from seed it was very small however he told me when he planted it I said you had one which you raised from seed & it had flowered this year which brought on this history and I thought I would tell you. I never heard of any varieties so I suppose it is only because Dr Fowlers tree is a fine young, flourishing tree it has larger & brighter flowers than others.

I am spending a few days at Brickworth but going back to Clifton next Monday & into Glamorganshire very shortly. The county is sadly burned up for want of rain we had a thunder storm at Salisbury on Wedy afternoon & a little rain next morning which has refreshed every thing very much. John has a beautiful Delphinium in flower of the Bee kind from seed. there are still some Roses but many other things are dwarfed & blighted from the drought & they are obliged to carry every drop of water they use in the House as well as in the Garden which is vy inconvenient. Are you & your family going to remain much longer in Town? Chrir <3> must have returned from Ireland by this time, his Daughters are anxious to go Yachting I have settled on Lisbon! but I do not know what will be their destination as Chrir has not told me. they are good sailors & really do enjoy being at sea! to my great surprise

My love to all I am your affate
Coz Mary

How pleasant the shades of Lacock will be after the turmoil of London!

I am going out after Convallarias, Epipactis & Melitis. the Lilies of the Valley & Orchis ustulata wch I got here before are all over but I suppose I shall see the Hippocrepis on the Downs I wish you were of the party

[envelope:]
Henry Fox Talbot Esqre
9 Clarges St
Picadilly [sic]
London
W


Notes:

1. Brickworth House, Wiltshire, between Salisbury and Southampton, was owned by Lord Nelson. It was the home of WHFT's recently deceased uncle, John George Charles Fox Strangways (1803- 8 Sep 1859), MP. After his death, his widow, Lady Amelia, ne Marjoribanks (d. 1886), had been staying in London. In preparation for her return, the fireplaces were lit, and on the evening of 27 May 1860 a fire broke out. In spite of the efforts of the neighbors, the fire, fanned by high winds, destroyed nearly all of the stately home and its contents, except for the servant's quarters. Only some furniture was saved from the conflagration.

2. Richard Fowler (17651863), physician.

3. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (18031890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

Result number 132 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >