link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 136 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 7873
Date: 06 May 1859
Postmark: 6 May 1859
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Mary Thereza
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: envelope 21266
Last updated: 9th July 2010

9 Princes buildings
May 6th

My dear Henry

It grieves me to hear the wedding is likely to take place at Edinburgh where none of the family will be able to attend or to contribute to enliven the affair! Dear Matilda <1> has my best wishes where ever she goes. –

You may depend on my letting you know when I return home I should like so much to have you there tho’, the dismantling of the House in the Summer makes it look uncomfortable enough. fine weather enables one to be out & enjoy the scenery & the Garden. – I am sorry you say your fruit has failed I hope the nets which were put up, have saved some of ours. The Tulips have been sadly scattered about I hear from Isabella <2> who is at Clamenstone but I do not hear of any other mischief done by this blighting East wind.

My poor Niece Susan <3> has not been out for a long time now, but she is improving again since she lost her cough & when the East wind leaves us I hope she will be sent out in her Chair carriage. she is quite helpless still as to standing even but she makes great use of her hands & is busy & cheerful always. –

I have been twice to Ganaway but there is little in flower there now, the Spring bulbs are all over. –

Ed. Nicholl <4> is gone out to escort his Mother away from Rome I expect to hear soon where they intend to stop at for the present as they will not come strait home so early in the year. –

Charles Franklen <5> is in good health & so is Rice Nicholl <6> (in India) I am happy to say the latter says they are to be at Lucknow for the Summer. Charles is at or near Sasseram still he writes very contented letters in general and takes great charge of his Men who have been remarkably healthy in consequence.

Chrisr Election is over & they will soon go to Town I suppose. –

Ever your affate
Coz Mary

Henry Fox Talbot Esqre
Lacock Abbey


1. Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, ‘Tilly’, née Talbot (1839–1927), WHFT’s 3rd daughter.

2. Isabella Catherine Franklen, née Talbot (1804–1874).

3. Susie Franklen (d. 1860), daughter of Isabella Franklen.

4. Rev Edward Powell Nicholl (1831–1902), Vicar of Lacock from 1864 until his resignation in 1870; photographer.

5. Charles Franklen, son of Isabella Franklen.

6. Christopher Rice Havard Nicholl (b. 1836), Jane Harriet Nicholl’s fifth son.

Result number 136 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >