link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 140 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 381
Date: 27 Aug 1859
Dating: 1859 - between Matilda's marraige & Susie's death
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Mary Thereza
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 12th January 2011

Merthyrmawr <1>
Augt 27

My dear Henry

As when Isabella <2> returned home with her poor invalid, I thought I could be of service in helping to nurse her, I did not return to Penrice <3> but went to Clemenstone where I have been staying ever since I am very sorry to say poor Susie <4> is in a very suffering state & has not recovered the effects of her journey home her nerves have been so much shaken, she is glad to be at home but cannot leave her bed her Sisters bring her in flowers & sit with her to amuse her when she likes to be talked to & when not in very great pain she takes a great interest in their concerns & wishes to make herself of use to them in any way she can putting them in mind of any thing about the poor Childn &cc?

Isabella herself has a swelled face and pain in her head Jane <5> has her house full of people & I do not intend to pay her another visit till they are gone but she says some are going on Tuesday. She is pretty well she sends her love (I came over for the day) she would like to see your Mandevillia very much. I know it well at Penllergare <6> in the Conservatory. I hope you have made it descend a little as the worst of those creepers is that they flower up too high for ordinary enjoyment!

Mr Traherne & Charlotte <7> are just going to Tenby for a short time. I suppose it will be as long as the weather is fine

Chrisr <8> & his Daughters are just gone to Dublin the young Ladies enjoy being at Sea very much

Theodore <9> is at Lynton reading. I remember when you were doing the same at Ilfracombe. many years ago! he likes the place very much I do not know who his companions are

I had a letter from dear Matilda <10> & am glad she has such a pleasant home as she has left her own.

I am your affate Coz
Mary

Thereza Maskelyne <11> is getting stronger & is very happy with her Mother at Penllergare now. Mr M. has been obliged to return to Town for a time.

Notes:

1. Merthyr Mawr, Glamorgan, on River Ogwr.

2. Isabella Catherine Franklen, ne Talbot (18041874).

3. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

4. Susannah Mary Franklen (d. early 1860), daughter of Isabella Franklen.

5. Jane Harriot Nicholl, ne Talbot (17961874).

6. Penllergaer, Glamorgan, 5 mi E of Loughor: home of the Llewelyn family.

7. Rev John Montgomerie Traherne (17881860), JP & author and Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, ne Talbot (18001880), WHFTs cousin.

8. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (18031890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

9. Theodore Mansel Talbot (18391876), WHFTs Welsh nephew.

10. Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, ne Talbot (25 February 1839 -1927), 'Tilly', WHFT's 3rd daughter; m. John Henry Gilchrist-Clark 16 June 1859.

11. Thereza Mary Maskelyne, ne Llewelyn (18341926), daughter of Emma and John Dillwyn Llewelyn, m 29 June 1858, Nevil Story-Maskelyne (18231911), photographer, politician & scientist.

Result number 140 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >