link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 19 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 982
Date: 19 Jun 1822
Postmark: 20 Jun 1822
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Mary Thereza
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA22-32
Last updated: 7th November 2011

June 19th

My dear Henry

Will you get Emma’s <1> letter to Jane, <2> put into the Ambassador’s Bag, we did not know whether it should be directed in french or English so she has only written the direction in pencil that you might rectify it; if it is not right. – We got here yesterday Charlotte <3> was not much tired by the journey, we saw Kit <4> at Oxford & I suppose you will see him soon as he sets out in a boat to row to London on Thursday, they will probably be three days on the river. (I think). –

We spent our time very pleasantly at Danesfield <5> & I got some nice plants on the banks of the Thames, 2 Verbascums 2 Campanula’s, yellow waterlilies & a variety of pretty things. – Every body agreed as we came to Oxford, that the cornfields there must be quite as brilliant with poppies as yours at Nice with anemonies! –

I send you a bit of a beautiful vetch which grows near this place; is it the V. sylvatica? it runs over the hedges & is quite lovely. –

All send their love to Aunt Lily <6> & to you.

I am your affate coz

W. H. Fox Talbot Esqre
31 Sackville Street <7>
if left here to be returned to 2 Mansion House Place

London June twenty 1822 Auckland <8>
W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
31 Sackville Street
W. H. F. Talbot Esqr
Revd Mr Bonny’s <9>


1. Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, née Talbot (1806–1881), photographer; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

2. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

3. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

4. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin. He was an undergraduate at Oriel College, Oxford, at the time. [See Doc. No: 01210.]

5. Danesfield Park, near Great Marlow, Buckinghamshire.

6. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

7. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

8. George Eden, 1st Earl of Auckland (1784–1849), Governor General of India.

9. Thomas Kaye Bonney (1782–1863), Archdeacon of Leicester. WHFT was paying him a visit. [See Doc. No: 00979].

Result number 19 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >